Confidential Records and Sexual Assault Complainants post-Mills: Still Vulnerable?

Posted 2002-07-16 by Lise Gotell | Jurisfemme Publications – Volume 21, No. 2, Summer 2002

Summary of a Presentation from NAWL's 14th Biennial Conference

During the 1990s, the scope of access to complainant's confidential records was radically widened in a series of decisions of the Supreme Court of Canada that relied upon an almost inviolable interpretation of the right to a fair trial (R. v. Osolin, [1993] 4 S.C.R. 595; L.L.A. v. A.B., [1995] 4 S.C.R. 536; R. v. O'Connor, [1995] 4 S.C.R. 411; R.v.Carosella, [1997] 1 S.C.R. 80). This liberalized disclosure regime made Canada unique in comparative terms, allowing for almost routine legally sanctioned intrusions into the extra-legal domains where complainants have chosen to tell their stories of assault. As several analysts have demonstrated (Gotell 2001; Busby, 2000; Aboriginal Women's Council et al., 1995), liberalized disclosure increased the vulnerability and decreased the protections afforded to those with mental health histories and to those who had been extensively documented by state agencies, including aboriginal women, women living in poverty and women with disabilities.

Bill C-46, passed by the federal government in 1997, sought to restrict access to private records and to affirm the equality and privacy rights of complainants. Yet the ink on this legislation was barely dry before a series of controversial lower court decisions struck down the bill, finding that it violated defendants' legal rights. The issue of disclosure was thrust back to the Supreme Court in R. v. Mills ([1999] 3 S.C.R. 668). Some Canadian feminists have hailed the resulting decision as a victory because it upheld the statutory test for disclosure set out in Bill C-46. However, careful analysis of Mills reveals its ambiguity. While the effect of the Court's decision in Mills is to require the defence to establish an evidentiary foundation to ground any assertion of the likely relevance of confidential records, the decision also privileges defendant's rights and emphasizes the importance of judicial discretion in decisions about access to complainant's records.

The workshop explored issues involved in access to complainants' records post-Mills in 15 trial and appeal level decisions on records disclosure and production since December 1999. The analysis revealed:

* The tactic of "whacking the complainant" through records applications has remained a widespread defence strategy. According to an article in the Criminal Lawyers' Association Newsletter, "the importance of pursuing these applications. . . cannot be overstated." (For the Defence, Vol 21:2, March-April 2000, p. 32)
* Most of post-Mills cases involve child sexual abuse, and nearly all of the accused are adult men. There are no cases of stranger rape among the cases analyzed. This suggests that the strategy of records applications is highly likely in cases where the accused and complainant have a close personal relationship.
* In the post-Mills cases reviewed, there is a complete silence on the race of complainants and in only one case was the race of the accused noted. Two cases involved complainants with developmental disabilities. It is, however, clear from the decisions that many of the complainants are or were vulnerable children and adolescents with child welfare records. Previous research has established that those who have been extensively documented are particularly vulnerable to records applications, including, children in care, people with disabilities, people with mental health histories, aboriginal women and women of colour.
* The post-Mills cases that were reviewed suggest a reduced likelihood of successful applications. In 3/10 cases where production/disclosure was at issue, the records were found to be "likely relevant." Many trial and appellate level decisions follow the Mills requirement of an evidentiary foundation, and this appears to have reduced successful applications based upon mere assertion.
* Mills is a contradictory decision and in cases where records are found to be likely relevant, judges have relied upon those elements of Mills that stress judicial discretion and the importance of erring on the side of the accused in unclear cases. In cases where records have been produced, these elements of Mills are used to justify disclosure. But ithese decisions are also based upon rape myths.
* The suggestion of "memory manipulation" seems to be a key factor that demarcates findings of "not likely relevant" from "likely relevant."
* The most-positive aspect of the post-Mills case law -- the requirement of an evidentiary foundation for assertions of likely relevance -- has led to a new defence strategy that holds the potential to undermine the thrust of Bill C-46. Defence counsel has sought to establish this foundation through extensive questioning of complainants on records at the preliminary inquiry. The ability for defence to cross-examine on records has been affirmed in two significant post-Mills cases: R. v. B.(E.), [2002] O.J. No. 75 (C.A.) and R. v. Kasook, [2001] 2 W.W.R. 683 (N.W.T.S.C.).

Overall, the findings of this study suggest that complainants are still vulnerable post-Mills. Resisting disclosure remains a crucial site in the struggle against coercive sexuality. At issue is our very ability to speak about and understand sexual violation outside the narrow confines of legal discourse.

Lise Gotell is an associate professor of Women's Studies at the University of Alberta.

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Creating default object from empty value

Filename: republic_variables/ext.republic_variables.php

Line Number: 74

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/nawlanfd/expressionengine_system/codeigniter/system/core/Exceptions.php:170)

Filename: core/EE_Input.php

Line Number: 213

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/nawlanfd/expressionengine_system/codeigniter/system/core/Exceptions.php:170)

Filename: core/EE_Input.php

Line Number: 213

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/nawlanfd/expressionengine_system/codeigniter/system/core/Exceptions.php:170)

Filename: core/EE_Input.php

Line Number: 213

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/nawlanfd/expressionengine_system/codeigniter/system/core/Exceptions.php:170)

Filename: core/EE_Input.php

Line Number: 213

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/nawlanfd/expressionengine_system/codeigniter/system/core/Exceptions.php:170)

Filename: core/EE_Input.php

Line Number: 213

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/nawlanfd/expressionengine_system/codeigniter/system/core/Exceptions.php:170)

Filename: core/Common.php

Line Number: 475

Dossiers confidentiels et plaignantes d’agression sexuelle après l’arrêt mills : toujours vulnérables ? – Association nationale Femmes et Droit

Dossiers confidentiels et plaignantes d’agression sexuelle après l’arrêt mills : toujours vulnérables ?

a posté 2002-07-16 par Lise Gotell | Publications Jurisfemme – Volume 21, No. 2, Été 2002

Résumé de la présentation du 14e conférence biennale de l'ANFD

Pendant les années 1990, la portée de l’accès aux dossiers confidentiels des plaignantes s’est radicalement élargie suite à une série de décisions de la Cour suprême du Canada basées sur une interprétation presque inviolable du droit à un procès équitable (R. c. Osolin, [1993] 4 R.C.S. 595; L.L.A. c. A.B., [1995] 4 R.C.S. 536; R. c. O’Connor, [1995] 4 R.C.S. 411; R. c. Carosella, [1997] 1 R.C.S. 80). Ce régime libéralisé de divulgation a particularisé le Canada, rendant presque routinières des intrusions sanctionnées par la loi dans les domaines extrajudiciaires où les plaignantes avaient choisi de livrer le récit de leurs agressions. Comme plusieurs analystes l’ont démontré (Gotell, 2001; Busby, 2000; Aboriginal Women’s Council et autres, 1995), la libéralisation des divulgations a augmenté la vulnérabilité et diminué les protections allouées aux personnes ayant des problèmes de santé mentale et aux personnes sur lesquelles les organismes d’État possédaient des dossiers très documentés, y compris les femmes autochtones, les femmes vivant dans la pauvreté et les femmes handicapées.

Le projet de loi C-46, adopté par le gouvernement fédéral en 1997, a tenté de restreindre l’accès aux dossiers privés et de confirmer l’égalité des parties plaignantes et leur droits à la vie privée. Toutefois, l’encre n’était pas encore sèche sur ces dispositions qu’une série de décisions controversées de tribunaux inférieurs est venue annuler la loi, prétendant qu’elle violait les droits des défendeurs. L’enjeu de la divulgation est retourné devant la Cour suprême dans R. c. Mills [1999] 3 R.C.S. 668). Certaines féministes canadiennes ont salué la décision qui en a résulté comme une victoire parce qu’elle maintenait le test réglementaire pour la divulgation prescrit dans le Projet de loi C-46. Cependant, une analyse attentive de Mills en révèle l’ambiguïté. L’effet de la décision du tribunal dans Mills consiste à obtenir de la défense l’établissement d’un fondement probatoire pour motiver toute assertion de pertinence vraisemblable des dossiers confidentiels, mais la décision privilégie aussi les droits du défendeur et met l’accent sur l’importance du pouvoir judiciaire discrétionnaire dans les décisions sur l’accès aux dossiers des plaignantes.

L’atelier a permis d’explorer les enjeux associés à l’accès aux dossiers des plaignantes après Mills. L’analyse de 15 procès et décisions en matière d’appel concernant des divulgations et productions de dossiers depuis décembre 1999 a révélé les facteurs suivants:

  1. 1. La tactique de «démolir la plaignante» par des demandes de dossiers est demeurée largement utilisée par la défense. D’après un article publié en 2000 dans le bulletin de la Criminal Lawyers’ Association: «On ne saurait insister suffisamment sur l’importance de déposer ces demandes…». (For the Defence, vol 21, no 2, mars-avril 2000, page 32)

La plupart des causes de divulgation entendues après Mills concernent des sévices sexuels infligés à des enfants, et presque tous les accusés sont des hommes adultes. Il n’existe aucune cause de viol par un étranger dans les causes analysées. Ceci suggère que la stratégie de demande de dossiers est à prévoir dans les causes où l’accusé et la plaignante ont une relation personnelle étroite.

Dans les causes après Mills étudiées, un silence complet entoure la race des plaignantes, et la race de l’accusé est notée dans une cause seulement. Deux causes concernent des plaignantes ayant des troubles de développement. Il est clair, toutefois, d’après les décisions, que plusieurs des plaignants et plaignantes sont ou étaient des enfants et des adolescents vulnérables ayant des dossiers d’aide sociale à l’enfance. Des recherches précédentes ont établi que les personnes pour qui on dispose de dossiers très documentés sont particulièrement vulnérables aux demandes de dossiers. Cela inclut les enfants pris en charge, les personnes handicapées, les personnes ayant des antécédents de santé mentale, les femmes autochtones et les femmes de couleur.

Les causes après Mills étudiées suggèrent une probabilité réduite de consentement aux demandes. Dans trois causes sur dix où la production ou divulgation était un enjeu, les dossiers ont été jugés «vraisemblablement pertinents». Plusieurs décisions au procès ou en appel respectent l’exigence de Mills d’un fondement probatoire, ce qui semble avoir réduit l’acceptation de demandes sur la base de simples assertions.

Mills est une décision contradictoire et, dans les causes où les dossiers sont jugés vraisemblablement pertinents, les juges se sont appuyés sur les éléments de Mills qui mettent l’accent sur le pouvoir judiciaire discrétionnaire et sur l’importance d’être excessivement prudent envers l’accusé dans les causes délicates. Dans les causes où les dossiers ont été produits, ces éléments de Mills servent à justifier la divulgation. Mais ces décisions sont aussi basées sur les préjugés courants en matière de viol.

La suggestion de «manipulation de la mémoire» semble être un facteur clé entre les dossiers jugés «invraisemblablement pertinents» et ceux qui sont jugés «vraisemblablement pertinents».

L’aspect le plus positif de la jurisprudence après Mills – l’exigence d’un fondement probatoire pour des assertions de pertinence vraisemblable – a conduit à une nouvelle stratégie de défense qui pourrait éventuellement saper l’esprit du Projet de loi C-46. Les avocats de la défense ont tenté d’établir ce fondement par des interrogatoires poussés des plaignantes au moment de l’enquête préliminaire. La capacité de la défense à se servir des dossiers dans leurs contre-interrogatoires des plaignantes a été confirmée dans deux importantes causes entendues après Mills : R. v. B.(E.), [2002] O.J. no 75 (C.A.) et R. v. Kasook, [2001] 2 W.W.R. 683 (N.W.T.S.C.).

Dans l’ensemble, les résultats de cette étude laissent entendre que les plaignantes demeurent vulnérables après Mills. L’opposition à la divulgation demeure un enjeu crucial dans la lutte contre la violence sexuelle. Il y va de notre capacité d’aborder et de comprendre les agressions sexuelles au-delà des œillères qu’impose le discours juridique.

Une analyse plus détaillée de ces causes sera bientôt disponible sur mon site Web: http://www.arts.ualberta.ca/~gotell.

Lise Gotell est professeure agrégée en études féministes à l’Université de l’Alberta.