The UN Declaration on the Elimination of Violence Against Women and the Inter-American Convention on the Prevention, Punishment and Eradication of Violence Against Women

Posted 2002-07-16 by Isabelle Solon Helal | Jurisfemme Publications – Volume 21, No. 2, Summer 2002

A summary of a presentation from NAWL's 14th Biennial Conference

Canada has been a leader in women's human rights in the international human rights arena for several years. Indeed, Canada backed the campaign at the 1993 United Nations World Conference on Human Rights that led to the recognition that women's rights are an inalienable, integral and indivisible part of universal human rights in the Vienna Declaration and Programme of Action. The Vienna Declaration urged the UN General Assembly to adopt a draft declaration on violence against women and encouraged the UN Commission for Human Rights to appoint a special rapporteur on violence against women. In accordance with the Vienna Declaration, the General Assembly adopted the Declaration on the Elimination of Violence Against Women by consensus on December 20, 1993 (resolution A/48/104).

In 1994, the UN Economic and Social Council (decision 1994/45) endorsed the Canada-led resolution of the UN Human Rights Commission (resolution 1994/45) to appoint the Special Rapporteur on Violence against Women, Its Causes and Its Consequences. To this day, Canada continues to provide leadership on this important resolution.

More recently, in October 2000, Canada sat on the Security Council when it unanimously adopted Council Resolution 1325, which has been heralded internationally as a far-reaching and substantive document. Resolution 1325 sets out a comprehensive agenda on women, peace and security issues, including the full participation of women in peace processes and peace building.

However, from a regional perspective the participation of Canada in the Organization of American States (OAS) has been weak. In this regard, Canada joins the United States, as being one of the few American States not to have signed the American Convention on Human Rights (1969); the Additional Protocol to the American Convention on Human Rights in the Area of Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, also known as the San Salvador Protocol (1988); and the Inter-American Convention on the Prevention, Punishment and Eradication of Violence Against Women (1994). The latter convention, also referred to as the Belem do Para Convention, is the only international treaty to specifically address the issue of violence against women.

The presentation looked at the only two international instruments that specifically address violence against women: the United Nations Declaration on the Elimination of Violence Against Women and the Convention of Belem do Para. These instruments have been used both at the national, regional and international levels. Belem do Para, as a convention, offers extensive strategies and enforcement mechanisms that go beyond the realm of those offered by the UN Declaration. The strength of Belem do Para can be enhanced by creatively combining it with norms contained in other instruments of the Inter-American Human Rights system.

For Canadians, the challenge will be to examine how these norms and mechanisms can be used to secure, and perhaps go beyond, the rights and guarantees contained in the Charter of Rights and Freedoms and in Canadian law more generally. Beyond this, I believe that Canada could participate richly in the Inter-American system by engaging in a process of interaction and the construction of shared expectations across borders. From inside Canada, we can join with those outside in efforts to ensure that states are truly accountable to women's human rights norms in the Americas.

Isabelle Solon Helal has been working as a lawyer for the Programme droits des femmes at Droits et Démocratie since 1997.

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Creating default object from empty value

Filename: republic_variables/ext.republic_variables.php

Line Number: 74

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/nawlanfd/expressionengine_system/codeigniter/system/core/Exceptions.php:170)

Filename: core/EE_Input.php

Line Number: 213

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/nawlanfd/expressionengine_system/codeigniter/system/core/Exceptions.php:170)

Filename: core/EE_Input.php

Line Number: 213

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/nawlanfd/expressionengine_system/codeigniter/system/core/Exceptions.php:170)

Filename: core/EE_Input.php

Line Number: 213

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/nawlanfd/expressionengine_system/codeigniter/system/core/Exceptions.php:170)

Filename: core/EE_Input.php

Line Number: 213

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/nawlanfd/expressionengine_system/codeigniter/system/core/Exceptions.php:170)

Filename: core/EE_Input.php

Line Number: 213

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Warning

Message: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/nawlanfd/expressionengine_system/codeigniter/system/core/Exceptions.php:170)

Filename: core/Common.php

Line Number: 475

La Déclaration sur l’élimination de la violence contre les femmes de l’ONU et la Convention interaméricaine sur la prévention, la sanction et l’élimination de la violence faite aux femmes – Association nationale Femmes et Droit

La Déclaration sur l’élimination de la violence contre les femmes de l’ONU et la Convention interaméricaine sur la prévention, la sanction et l’élimination de la violence faite aux femmes

a posté 2002-07-16 par Isabelle Solon Helal | Publications Jurisfemme – Volume 21, No. 2, Été 2002

Résumé de la présentation du 14e conférence biennale de l'ANFD

Le Canada s’est fait depuis plusieurs années le champion des droits des femmes sur la scène internationale des droits humains. En fait, lors de la Conférence mondiale sur les droits de l’homme des Nations Unies, en 1993, le Canada a soutenu la campagne qui a mené à la reconnaissance du fait que les droits des femmes font inaliénablement, intégralement et indissociablement partie des droits universels de la personne humaine dans la Déclaration de Vienne et le Programme d’action. La Déclaration de Vienne pressait l’Assemblée générale de l'ONU d’adopter un projet de déclaration sur la violence contre les femmes et encourageait la Commission des droits de l’homme de l’ONU à nommer une Rapporteuse spéciale sur la violence contre les femmes. En vertu de la Déclaration de Vienne, l’Assemblée générale a adopté à l’unanimité la Déclaration sur l’élimination de la violence contre les femmes, le 20 décembre 1993 (résolution A/48/104).

En 1994, le Conseil économique et social de l’ONU (décision 1994/45) a endossé la résolution mise de l’avant par le Canada et adoptée par la Commission des droits de l’homme (résolution 1994/45) de nommer une Rapporteuse spéciale chargée de la violence contre les femmes, y compris ses causes et ses conséquences. À ce jour, le Canada continue de piloter l’application de cette importante résolution. Plus récemment, en octobre 2000, le Canada siégeait au Conseil de sécurité lors de l’adoption à l’unanimité de la Résolution du Conseil 1325, reconnue à l’échelle internationale comme un document visionnaire d’une portée considérable.

La résolution 1325 crée un programme d’action détaillé sur les femmes, la paix et les enjeux entourant la sécurité, incluant la pleine participation des femmes dans les processus et la consolidation de la paix.

Toutefois, dans une perspective régionale, la participation du Canada à l’Organisation des États américains (OEA) est demeurée faible. À cet égard, le Canada s’apparente aux États-Unis et aux quelques autres États des Amériques qui n’ont signé ni la Convention américaine relative aux droits de l’homme (1969), ni le Protocole additionnel à la Convention américaine relative aux droits de l’homme traitant des droits économiques, sociaux et culturels, aussi connu sous le nom de Protocole de San Salvador (1988), ni la Convention interaméricaine sur la prévention, la sanction et l’élimination de la violence faite aux femmes (1994). Cette dernière convention, qu’on appelle aussi la Belem do Para Convention, est le seul traité international qui aborde explicitement le problème de la violence contre les femmes.

Nous nous sommes intéressées aux deux seuls instruments internationaux qui traitent spécifiquement de la violence contre les femmes: la Déclaration sur l’élimination de la violence contre les femmes des Nations Unies et la Convention de Belem do Para. Ces instruments ont été utilisés aux niveaux national, régional et international. Belem do Para offre de solides stratégies et mécanismes de renforcement dépassant la portée de ceux inscrits dans la Déclaration de l’ONU. En combinant avec imagination Belem do Para aux normes inscrites dans d’autres instruments du système interaméricain des droits de l’homme, on pourrait accroître son efficacité.

Pour la population canadienne, le défi consistera à examiner comment ces normes et mécanismes peuvent être utilisés pour assurer, et peut-être même bonifier, les droits et garanties inscrits dans la Charte des droits et libertés et plus généralement, dans le droit canadien. Au-delà de tout ceci, je crois que le Canada a beaucoup à apporter au système interaméricain en s’engageant dans un processus d’interaction et d’élaboration d’attentes communes par delà les frontières. De l’intérieur, nous pouvons combiner nos efforts avec ceux déployés à l’extérieur du pays pour nous assurer que les États deviennent réellement imputables selon des normes panaméricaines de respect des droits des femmes.

Isabelle Solon Helal est avocate depuis 1997 au Programme droits des femmes de l’organisme Droits et Démocratie.